Skip to main content
Family planning a travel route on a map of Coos Bay, Oregon
View more


Official Travel Information

The United States is the third largest country in the world in size, at nearly 10,000,000 square kilometers, and is the third largest in population, with nearly 319 million people. The USA is bordered by the Pacific Ocean to the west, the Atlantic Ocean to the east, Canada to the north and Mexico to the south.

The width of the continental United States is 4,313 kilometers, but traveling from the East Coast to the West Coast can be lesser or greater, depending on the route traveled.

The country consists of 50 states and the District of Columbia, which are divided into six regions, as well as five territories:

The Beaver state, Oregon, is known for diverse landscapes. Oregon has hot high desert country to the east, balmy coast to the west, and mountains, rivers and forests in between.

Not to mention many great towns on your must-see list. You’ve got a lot of ground to cover, and we are here to help you figure out how to get around.

The 7 Regions

Central Oregon

Eastern Oregon

Portland Region

Mount Hood / Columbia River Gorge

Oregon Coast

Southern Oregon

Willamette Valley